Anthony Flavin ‘Soul Boy’ on The Night Owl Radio Show
Without Venues, We’re Nothing
June 11, 2020
A virtual festival streamed from The Night Owl to YOU this Saturday
July 7, 2020

Anthony Flavin is the subject of a recent BBC documentary from the ‘Our Lives’ series, ‘Soul Boy’. Having grown up in care since the age of 6, Anthony found a new passion and lease of life with Northern Soul and 60s and 70s fashion, music and film. Having been moved by the documentary we invited him to do a socially distanced interview for The Night Owl Radio Show. You can listen to the show here.

Track list for the show which was aired live yesterday, on Sunday 21st June, listed below. Anthony’s selections have been noted as well as those from recent purchases as discussed on air from Polar Bear Records in Kings Heath, Birmingham who have a great selection of vinyl compilations, some of which are sold out online. Please support your local record shops!

  1. I’m where it’s at – The Jades
  2. Everyone’s going to the love in – Bob Brady & The Con Chords (Deptford Northern Soul Club release, A side – Herb Ward – Honest to Goodness)
  3. Our love (will never falter) – Eddie Bo
  4. A Man is a mean thing – Barbara Perry (New Breed R&B vinyl compilation on Kent, 2018)
  5. I Idolize You – The Charmaines (New Breed R&B vinyl compilation on Kent, 2018)
  6. I say I love you – Johnny Guitar Watson (New Breed R&B vinyl compilation on Kent, 2018)
  7. 25 miles – Edwin Starr
  8. Green Door – Wynder K. Frog (Anthony Flavin selection)
  9. Little Queenie – Bill Black’s Combo (Anthony Flavin selection)
  10. Wade in the water – Ramsey Lewis (Anthony Flavin selection)
  11. My Girl – The Temptations (Anthony Flavin selection)
  12. Same Old Song – The Four Tops (Anthony Flavin selection)
  13. Time – Edwin Starr (Anthony Flavin selection)
  14. They’ll never know why – Freddie Chavez
  15. To be young, gifted and black – Bob & Marcia
  16. Simmer Down – Bob Marley & the wailers
  17. I got some – Billy (Sugar Billy) Garner (Superfunk Vol 4, BGP, 2004)
  18. Chicken Tracks – Ron Buford (Superfunk Vol 4, BGP, 2004)
  19.  Deep Shadows – Little Ann

For more amazing radio shows see Totally Wired Radio.

The Night Owl Radio Show will be back live Sunday 5th July at 7pm on totallywiredradio.com

Anthony Flavin has also safely filmed a DJ set for The Night Owl & NHS Joint Birthday Shindig which will be streamed online on Saturday 11th July, the stream is free but we welcome donations all of which go towards University Hospitals Birmingham Trust to help out local NHS and hospital projects.

Anthony Flavin, Soul Boy


Soul Maz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *